23 CERN Member States Suspended Cooperation with Russian and Belarusian Scientists and Research Centers

23 member states of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) continue to condemn the full-scale russian invasion of Ukraine supported by the Republic of Belarus. Thus, at the meeting held on 25 March it was decided to suspend the participation of scientists of all scientific committees of institutions located in russia and the Republic of Belarus, and vice versa; as well as to suspend and even cancel events organized by CERN jointly with institutions located in the territory of the russian federation and the Republic of Belarus.

The meeting participants also decided to suspend scientific contacts with the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR), located in the russian city of Dubna, and suspend its observer status until further notice.

The CERN Council notes that the Organization’s core values ​​have always been based on cross-border scientific cooperation as a driving force for peace. That is why CERN member states express solidarity with the Ukrainian people and condemn кussian aggression, which is contrary to the values ​​of the Organization.

It should be noted that the first extraordinary meeting in response to the кussian invasion of Ukraine took place on 8 March 2022 at which it was decided to support initiatives to promote Ukrainian scientists and Ukrainian research activity in particle physics and suspend russia’s observer status at CERN.

According to the press service of CERN