On the occasion of the 35th anniversary of the Chornobyl accident, the State Scientific and Technical Center for Nuclear and Radiation Safety held literary and expert evenings “Those Who Did Not Step Back” on 20-21 April 2021. Their guests were scientists, engineers, doctors – people who have dedicated a considerable part of their lives to the Chornobyl issue and elimination of the consequences of the tragedy that occurred on 26 April, 1986.

The guests came out with details of the events, those were Chornobyl NPP Chief Engineer Mykola Steinberg, Deputy Chief Engineer of the Chornobyl NPP Georgy Kopchynsky, Senior Engineer of Unit 4 Borys Stolyarchuk, Shelter Manager (1995-2002) Valentyn Kupny, Deputy Chief of Medical Pripyat Unit Volodymyr Pecherytsia, Deputy Head of Reactor Shop Vyacheslav Orlov, Senior Engineer of the reactor shop 1 Arkady Uskov, 6th Minister of Energy of Ukraine and 13th Minister of Fuel and Energy of Ukraine Ivan Plachkov and Director of SSTC NRS Ihor Shevchenko.